Capacitor fuse guide · Specify and buy
DNX vs DNXC: Which DENCO Capacitor Fuse Fits?
Choose the DNX when the bank uses clip mountings or needs a voltage class outside 8.3 to 23 kV: it covers 2.8 to 38 kV and 1C to 140C. Choose the DNXC when each fuse mounts from a bus bar to the capacitor lead and you want a full-range fuse: it covers 8.3 to 23 kV and 10 to 65 A at 50 kA.
Key points
- DNX: current-limiting, clip style, 2.8 to 38 kV, 1C to 140C, 50 kA asymmetrical (DENCO catalog p.72).
- DNXC: full-range current-limiting, bus bar to lead mounting, 8.3 to 23 kV, 10 to 65 A, 50 kA (DENCO catalog p.74).
- The series overlap only at 8.3, 15.5 and 23 kV. Below 8.3 kV and at 27 or 38 kV, only the DNX is listed.
- DNX ratings are C numbers; DNXC ratings are amperes. Compare time-current curves, not the numbers on the label.
- DNXC fuses are derated above 25 °C ambient with the formula on DENCO catalog p.74, which can push the choice up one or two ratings.
- The mountings differ, so neither is a drop-in for the other. Send the existing hardware details to DENCO.
The two series side by side
DENCO lists both series in its C-rated capacitor fuse family, on catalog pages 72 to 74. Both are current-limiting capacitor fuses intended to protect capacitor units and banks against case rupture and dielectric failure. They differ in mounting, voltage span, the way the current rating is expressed, the fuse class the catalog states, and what the catalog says about ambient temperature.
Everything in the table is taken from the DENCO catalog as printed. Where the catalog does not state a value, the cell says so instead of filling the gap. Dimensions and weights are left out on purpose: get them from DENCO for the exact rating you are considering.
| Item | DNX | DNXC |
|---|---|---|
| Catalog page | p.72 | p.74 (time-current curves on p.73) |
| Construction | Current-limiting, clip style | Full-range current-limiting |
| Mounting | Clip style; threaded end studs also available | Bus bar to lead |
| Voltage classes | 2.8, 4.3, 5.5, 8.3, 15.5, 23, 27 and 38 kV | 8.3, 15.5 and 23 kV |
| Current rating | 1C to 140C, in two or three C ranges per class | 10 A to 65 A, individual ratings |
| Interrupting rating | 50 kA asymmetrical | 50 kA |
| Melting characteristic | Melts in 1000 s at 1.7 to 2.4 times the C number | Ampere rating; see the p.73 curves |
| Ambient temperature | Not stated on the series page; ask DENCO | Derate above 25 °C: AT = A25 [1 - 0.0065 (T - 25)] (p.74) |
| Test wording in catalog | None on the series page | Tested at IPH, IEC 60282-1: 2009-10 and IEC 60282-2: 2008-04 |
Start with the mounting you already have
In a retrofit, the mounting usually decides the series before any rating does. A DNX is a clip-style fuse: its ends seat in fuse clips, and the catalog notes threaded end studs as an option. A DNXC is built for bus bar to lead mounting, with one end bolted to the bank bus and the other connected to the capacitor unit's lead.
Changing from one style to the other means changing the mounting hardware, the clearances and possibly the bus layout. If the bank or enclosure was designed around clips, a DNX is the natural starting point. If each unit is fused from a bus bar, start with the DNXC. The clip vs bus mounted article in this guide covers the mechanical side.
For new equipment you have a free choice. The decision then rests on voltage class, fuse class, the current rating the sizing work calls for, and the enclosure temperature, which the next sections take in turn.
Voltage class: where each series is listed
Fuse voltage class follows the capacitor unit voltage. Published manufacturer tables for current-limiting capacitor fuses map common unit voltages to classes as shown below. The tables agree on most rows but not all: one maker's outdoor table puts 8320 V units in the 8.3 kV class, while two other tables put them in the 15.5 kV class. Treat 8320 V as a case to confirm with DENCO, not a rule.
The DNXC is listed only in the 8.3, 15.5 and 23 kV classes. If the units need a 2.8, 4.3 or 5.5 kV fuse, or a 27 or 38 kV fuse, the DNX is the DENCO series that covers it. The voltage rating article explains how the bank connection affects the voltage a fuse sees when it clears.
The bank connection decides which unit voltage you start from. One capacitor maker's installation instructions state that units connected in delta must be rated at the line-to-line system voltage and units connected in wye at the line-to-neutral voltage. So a 12.47 kV grounded wye bank normally uses 7200 V units and lands in the 8.3 kV class, while a 4160 V delta bank uses 4160 V units. For 8.3, 15.5 and 23 kV you can then choose either series; below and above that range the choice is made for you.
| Fuse class | Capacitor unit voltages in published tables | DNX listing | DNXC listing |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.8 kV | 2400, 2770 V (one table) | DNX2: 1C to 45C, 50C to 100C | Not listed |
| 4.3 kV | Not mapped in the tables used here | DNX4: 18C to 35C, 40C to 100C | Not listed |
| 5.5 kV | 4160, 4800 V (one table) | DNX5: 6C to 18C, 20C to 75C | Not listed |
| 8.3 kV | 2400 to 7960 V; 8320 V in one table | DNX8: 1C to 140C | DNXC8: 10 to 65 A |
| 15.5 kV | 8320 to 14400 V (two tables); 9960 to 14400 V (one table) | DNX15: 1C to 140C | DNXC15: 10 to 43 A |
| 23 kV | 19920, 21600 V; 22800 V in one table | DNX23: 3C to 140C | DNXC23: 12 to 25 A |
| 27 kV and 38 kV | Not mapped in the tables used here | 6C to 50C | Not listed |
C numbers and amperes are not the same scale
DNX fuses are rated by C number. No standard defines a C rating for capacitor fuses; it is a manufacturer catalog convention. DENCO's catalog defines it for the DNX: the fuse melts in 1000 seconds at a current between 1.7 and 2.4 times its C number. A DNX of 40C therefore melts in 1000 seconds somewhere between 68 A and 96 A (40 x 1.7 and 40 x 2.4).
DNXC fuses are rated in plain amperes, from 10 to 65 A, and their curves are on catalog p.73. A DNXC8-40 and a 40C DNX share a number, but nothing in the catalog says their melting or clearing curves match. When moving between series, compare the time-current curves for the specific ratings against the capacitor's case rupture curve and the bank's inrush and outrush duty. Ask DENCO for the curve that matches any DNX rating you are considering.
Full-range vs back-up, and why it matters in a bank
The DENCO catalog describes the DNXC as a full-range current-limiting fuse. The IEEE C37.48.1 tutorial describes a full-range fuse as one that can interrupt any continuous current between the minimum current that can cause melting, at the maximum application temperature, and its rated maximum interrupting current, without another device to protect against overloads or high-impedance faults. A back-up fuse, by the same tutorial, interrupts only between its rated minimum and maximum interrupting currents and is often applied in series with another interrupting device.
That difference matters more in capacitor banks than in many other uses. One manufacturer's capacitor fuse selection guide explains that in ungrounded or multi-series-group banks, faults are limited by the capacitors themselves, with fault current typically less than 2 or 3 times the bank load current. A unit fuse in that kind of bank may have to clear a current only a few times its own rating.
The DNX series page describes the DNX as current-limiting and clip style but does not use the term full-range. Before relying on a DNX to clear low-magnitude faults on its own, ask DENCO which fuse class applies to the rating you are specifying.
Ambient temperature and derating
The DENCO catalog requires derating when a DNXC fuse runs above 25 °C ambient, and prints the formula on p.74: AT = A25 [1 - 0.0065 (T - 25)], where A25 is the rating at 25 °C and T is the maximum ambient the fuse will see. At 40 °C the factor is 0.9025; at 55 °C it is 0.805.
Use the maximum temperature inside the enclosure, not the outdoor design temperature. One capacitor maker's metal-enclosed bank manual recommends shading where daytime temperatures exceed 40 °C, which gives a sense of how hot enclosures can run. The DNX series page does not state a derating rule, so ask DENCO how the DNX should be applied at your enclosure temperature.
Worked example: one bank, both series
Take a 13.8 kV grounded wye bank built from 7960 V, 200 kvar single-phase units in a metal enclosure with a 55 °C maximum ambient. The numbers below illustrate the method only; they are not a fuse selection.
Unit current is kvar divided by kV: 200 / 7.96 = 25.1 A. Manufacturer application guides for full-range current-limiting capacitor fuses apply a 1.35 protective margin, which they say covers normal overvoltages, harmonics, capacitor tolerances and a 25 °C ambient: 25.1 x 1.35 = 33.9 A minimum at 25 °C.
At 25 °C the smallest 8.3 kV DNXC rating at or above 33.9 A is 40 A (DNXC8-40). At 55 °C the DENCO formula gives 40 x 0.805 = 32.2 A, which is short of 33.9 A. The next rating, 45 A, gives 45 x 0.805 = 36.2 A, which clears it. So the calculated starting point is DNXC8-45 in this enclosure.
If the enclosure uses clip mountings instead, the DNX8 15C to 40C range is the place to look, but the C number cannot be read off the ampere arithmetic. DENCO picks it from the curves, the outrush duty and the ambient. In both cases the result still has to be checked against the capacitor's case rupture curve, the parallel energy and a protection study.
Common mistakes when choosing between DNX and DNXC
These come up most often in replacement requests and first-time specifications.
- Treating a C number and an ampere rating as the same thing because the digits match.
- Swapping series without changing the mounting hardware and clearances.
- Sizing a DNXC at 25 °C for an enclosure that runs at 40 or 55 °C.
- Comparing 50 kA asymmetrical (DNX) and 50 kA (DNXC, basis not stated) as if they were the same figure.
- Assuming every DNX rating is full-range without asking DENCO.
- Choosing a class for 8320 V units from one table without noting that published tables disagree.
What to send DENCO if you want the choice made for you
If you are not sure which series suits the bank, send the inputs rather than a guess. DENCO engineering can recommend a series and a rating from the same data the sizing work uses, and point out where the catalog does not cover the application.
The most useful items are the capacitor unit voltage and kvar, the bank connection and grounding, the number of units in parallel per group, the available fault current and whether it is symmetrical or asymmetrical, the maximum enclosure ambient, photos of the existing mounting, and whether a blown fuse indicator is required. Add any protection study and the capacitor's case rupture curve if you have them. The RFQ checklist in this guide sets the full list out as a table.
When neither listed rating fits
If the sizing work lands above the top DNXC rating in a class, between listed ratings, or needs a voltage, mounting or end connection the catalog does not show, send the application data rather than forcing a listed part. DENCO takes OEM and specialty custom design work, and DENCO engineering can review whether a listed DNX or DNXC rating fits or a custom build is needed. The RFQ checklist and the DNXC selection by kvar article in this guide show what to include and how the calculated starting points are built.
Frequently asked questions
Can a DNXC replace a DNX in the same position?
Not as a drop-in. The DNX is clip style and the DNXC mounts from a bus bar to the capacitor lead, so the hardware and clearances differ. The ratings are also expressed differently (C number vs amperes). Send the existing fuse details and the bank layout to DENCO for review.
Do the DNX and DNXC have the same interrupting rating?
Both are listed at 50 kA. The catalog states the DNX value as asymmetrical and does not say symmetrical or asymmetrical for the DNXC, so do not treat the two figures as interchangeable without confirming with DENCO.
Which DENCO capacitor fuse covers 27 kV and 38 kV?
Only the DNX. The catalog lists the DNX at 27 kV and 38 kV from 6C to 50C. Confirm the 38 kV catalog number with DENCO when you order.
What is the largest DNXC rating in each voltage class?
65 A at 8.3 kV (DNXC8-65), 43 A at 15.5 kV (DNXC15-43) and 25 A at 23 kV (DNXC23-25), as listed on DENCO catalog p.74. If the sizing work needs more, contact DENCO.
How much does a DNXC derate at 55 °C?
Using the formula on DENCO catalog p.74, AT = A25 [1 - 0.0065 (T - 25)], the factor at 55 °C is 0.805. A 40 A DNXC carries the equivalent of 32.2 A at that ambient, and a 65 A DNXC carries 52.3 A.
Which series should I use for a 4160 V capacitor bank?
Published manufacturer tables put 4160 V units in the 5.5 kV class in one case and the 8.3 kV class in another. DENCO lists the DNX at 5.5 kV and both series at 8.3 kV. Send the unit data and bank connection to DENCO to confirm the class.
Is the DNXC tested to an IEC standard?
The DENCO catalog states the DNXC was tested at IPH to IEC 60282-1: 2009-10 and IEC 60282-2: 2008-04. That is the catalog's own wording. Ask DENCO for test documentation if your specification requires it.
Next step
Limits of this article
- This article compares catalog listings. It is not a fuse selection or a coordination study. Confirm any fuse against the capacitor manufacturer's data, the case rupture curve and a protection study for the bank.
- The worked example illustrates the arithmetic only. Confirm with the capacitor maker's data and a protection study before applying any result.
- Capacitors hold a charge after disconnection. Disconnect, wait, short circuit and ground the units as OSHA 29 CFR 1910.269(w)(1) requires, and follow NFPA 70E, before handling fuses or capacitors.
- DNX dimensions, DNXC dimensions and weights, and the 38 kV DNX catalog number are not stated here. Get them from DENCO.
- DENCO's family-level specifications are pending technical review by DENCO.
Related
- DNXC Selection by Capacitor kvar and Unit Voltage
- Full-Range vs Back-Up Current-Limiting Capacitor Fuses
- Clip-Style vs Bus-Mounted Capacitor Fuses
- 8.3 kV Capacitor Fuses (DNX8 and DNXC8)
- What Is a Capacitor Fuse?
- DNX and DNXC current-limiting capacitor fuses
- How to Read a DNX or DNXC Catalog Number
- Replacing Blown Capacitor Fuses Safely
- Capacitor Fuse RFQ Checklist: What DENCO Needs to Quote
- All capacitor fuse guides
Sources
- DENCO Fuses catalog, DNX and DNXC current-limiting capacitor fuses, pp.72 to 74
- DENCO Fuses catalog, C-rated capacitor protection fuses family page, p.59
- IEEE Switchgear Committee WG on Full Range Fuses, "Presenting IEEE C37.48.1-2002" (2003 IEEE/PES T&D Conference)
- Capacitor fuses, Technical selection guide, 1VAG38852-TG Rev A (2024), manufacturer application guide
- Full-range current-limiting capacitor fuse, Catalog Data CA132047EN (2019), manufacturer catalog
- MV single-phase capacitor installation and maintenance instructions, MN230002EN (2016), capacitor maker's instructions
- MV automatic power factor correction capacitor banks, commissioning, operation and maintenance, IB158008EN (2015), manufacturer manual
- IEC 60282-1:2020, High-voltage fuses, Part 1: Current-limiting fuses
- IEC 60282-2:2008, High-voltage fuses, Part 2: Expulsion fuses
- OSHA 29 CFR 1910.269(w)(1)
- NFPA 70E, Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace
